C4XD is guided by a Board with extensive expertise in drug discovery and development, clinical trials, transactions and fundraising. The team is detailed below.

Eva-Lotta Allan

Non-Executive Chairman

Eva-Lotta has more than 30 years’ experience in the healthcare industry. During this time, she has been a Senior Executive and Board member at both public and private companies. Most recently, Eva-Lotta was Chief Business Officer (and previously a Board member) at Immunocore, where she held full responsibility for all aspects of business development and played an instrumental role in the $320 million fundraising in 2015. Prior to this, Eva-Lotta served as Chief Business Officer and member of the Executive Committee and Euronext IPO team for Ablynx NV. Eva-Lotta currently serves as Non-Executive Director and Member of the Corporate Governance Committee and the R&D Sub-Committee of Oslo listed company, Targovax ASA and is a Non-Executive Director of Crescendo Biologics and Aleta Biotherapeutics. Eva-Lotta was a Board Member of the UK BioIndustry Association (BIA).

Clive Dix, PhD

Chief Executive Officer (Director)

Clive has more than 30 years’ experience in life science research, with over 20 years in senior pharmaceutical industry positions and a degree and PhD in Pharmacology. His expertise includes an in-depth understanding of all facets of drug discovery and development, a broad knowledge of the science and commercial landscape of a variety of therapeutic areas and solid experience of the pharmaceutical business and finance community supporting the sector.

Clive was co-founder and chief executive of Convergence Pharmaceuticals Ltd, which was acquired by Biogen in January 2015.

Clive was previously co-founder and chief executive of PowderMed Ltd, a vaccines development company acquired by Pfizer in November 2006. Before that he was senior vice president, research and development and a Board member of PowderJect Pharmaceuticals plc until its acquisition by Chiron Vaccines in 2003. Clive began his career in industry at Ciba-Geigy and then GlaxoWellcome, where he left as UK research director in 2001. Clive is a recent past chairman of the BioIndustry Association, is currently non-executive chairman of Touchlight Genetics Ltd and Centauri Ltd, and is a non-executive member of the Medicines Discovery Catapult Board.

Craig Fox, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer (Director)

Craig is an experienced biologist having worked on and managed drug discovery and development projects for more than two decades, from initial target selection right through to investigating clinical efficacy and safety in Phase 2 patient studies. Craig joined C4XD as Head of Biology in June 2015 before becoming Chief Scientific Officer in October later that year. Prior to joining C4XD, Craig was director of respiratory research at Pulmagen Therapeutics, a clinical stage company spun-out of Argenta in 2010. At Pulmagen, Craig managed several of its collaborations and partnerships, including those with AstraZeneca, Chiesi, Domantis, Dr Reddy’s, Skyepharma and Teijin Pharma. Craig was part of the Etiologics Team that merged with Argenta Discovery in 2004 and prior to this he worked for Bayer as a research scientist. Craig has a PhD in Respiratory Medicine from Birmingham University and a first-class biochemistry degree from the University of Surrey.

Brad Hoy

Chief Financial Officer (Director)

Brad has more than 20 years’ experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries and has held a number of senior financial and general management positions in both the UK and the US. Previously, Brad was chief financial officer of Plethora Solutions Holdings plc, an AIM-listed specialty pharmaceutical company, chief executive officer of Xcellsyz Limited, a UK venture capital-backed life science company, and senior director of Geron Corporation’s stem cell-focussed UK subsidiary. Brad is a co-founder of Seven Hills Venture Partners, a life sciences advisory firm, and previously served as non-executive director on the board of directors for e-Therapeutics plc for nine years.

Harry Finch, PhD

Non-Executive Director

Harry has significant experience within the pharmaceutical industry, specialising in medicinal chemistry, drug discovery and development. Currently he is an independent consultant working with a variety of small biotech companies and investors, many of which are in the oncology arena. Harry is also a non-executive director of Pulmocide Therapeutics and Artios Pharma Ltd. After attaining a PhD in Organic Chemistry, Harry worked at Ciba-Geigy AG (Now Novartis AG) and Roche Allen & Hanburys Limited, before joining GlaxoWellcome plc where he became director of Chemistry. Harry is an expert in the respiratory area of the pharma industry and is co-inventor of GSK’s successful asthma drug salmeterol (Serevent). In addition, he has worked across a range of therapeutic areas and at several biotechnology companies, including Ribotargets, Vernalis, Argenta and Pulmagen.

Alex Stevenson, PhD

Non-Executive Director

Alex has a proven track record in identifying, investing and growing businesses within the pharmaceutical sector. He is currently Chief Scientific Officer at 4D pharma plc.

From 2008, Alex was a director and shareholder of Aquarius Equity Partners Limited, and he joined the Board of C4XD as a Non-Executive Director following Aquarius’ investment in the Company. Prior to this, Alex worked for IP Group plc where he specialised in life science investments.

Alex has been involved in a number of private and public companies, including Nanoco Group plc, admitted to AIM in 2009; Retroscreen Virology Group plc, admitted to AIM in 2012; Tissue Regenix Group plc, admitted to AIM in 2010; and Auralis Limited, which, after investment through Aquarius Equity Partners Limited, delivered a seven-fold return through to its trade sale to ViroPharma Inc in 2010.

Natalie Walter

Non-Executive Director

Natalie is a corporate finance lawyer with more than 20 years of experience advising on international equity capital markets transactions in the healthcare sector. Most recently, Natalie was an Equity Partner at Covington & Burling LLP, advising boards on a range of strategic, transactional and general corporate finance matters, with particular expertise in advising on deals in the life sciences and med tech sectors. Natalie also sits as a Non-Executive Director on the Board of RSA (Holdings) Ltd, a boutique talent consultancy in life sciences.

For information on the role of the Board click HERE.